Title: where did keys go
travi - March 15, 2007 09:45 PM (GMT)
The bots are taking over :o
Keys - March 15, 2007 10:11 PM (GMT)
I was busy for a few days. They're getting bad and i've had no sign of ace to bannish the IPs. :(
ladyhawke - March 16, 2007 10:58 AM (GMT)
He hasn't posted anything on Sims2talk either. Maybe school has him snowed under or he is away for March Break.
Keys - March 16, 2007 06:45 PM (GMT)
Most likely. Last time he was MIA for about 3 weeks. Whats it going on now? I think 3 weeks? He may just break his record! :lol:
Ace - March 17, 2007 06:49 AM (GMT)
Read my annoucement...tis the school problems. I'm going insane with them.
SporeFox - March 18, 2007 03:01 AM (GMT)
only one bot left!!! :blink:
bag - March 26, 2007 12:43 AM (GMT)
Just as a note ip banning is pretty ineffective with bots since most run on zombies or at the very least use non-static ips.
Best way if you require registration for use, is to create a good email block filter, since being automated systems the hindrance will usually just stop em completely. Why they use standardizes emails though i don't really know, im guessing its to cater for boards using email validation.
Keys - March 26, 2007 09:40 PM (GMT)
Actually, every time Ace has bannished an IP we've seen that bot-type disapear. For instance: Ace got rid of an IP that was posting credit score, credit card, and financial links. Since then i've yet to see the same type of stuff posted.
As you'll notice ( at least for now ) the spam has pretty much gone to sleep here, i'd say it was pretty effective for now :lol: . At least it gives us a temporary break. A good idea to do though bag, and most likely it is to get around the email varification. However, each user name created to post spam has used different emails (though there were a few exceptions where two bots used the same email.) Even if we did block the email the IP would just drum up another one and continue about its business.
SporeFox - March 26, 2007 10:48 PM (GMT)
yeah they are pretty much gone now
travi - March 26, 2007 11:39 PM (GMT)
Tell ace to enter this in the email ban part and all our problems will be solved.
These are spam bot domains.
*@etradeoil.com
*@freeservicemail.info
*@web.de (Please be aware this is a free German mail Service)
*@runbox.com
*@pisem.net
*@mail333.com
*@freeideasearch.info
*@cashette.com (Please be aware this is a free Mail Service)
*@yandex.ru
*@mail.ru (Please be aware this is a free Mail Service)
*@gala.net
*@homeloancourse.info
*@symbian-petting.info
*@samsonbllinded.com
*@zyll.net
*@allchicagocharity.org
*@meta.ua
*@ukr.net
*@mylove-mail.com
*@cvportal.net
*@boutmusic.com
*@trumonline.info
*@gawab.com
*@runbox.com
*@sympatico.ca
*@visit-it.info
*@ultimatemeasure.info
ladyhawke - March 27, 2007 10:22 AM (GMT)
sympatico.ca is not a spambot domain. I have it as does anyone who uses bell high speed internet here in Canada.
Please be careful when blanking out all emails from one domain. You never really know if there are legitimate people using them. For the few I got at sims2talk, blocking the IP address seems to have worked. I haven't seen any more spam in quite some time. It seems to have worked here too.
Keys - March 29, 2007 10:22 PM (GMT)
Yeah, was going to say.. sympatico is the branch bell bought some years back and incorporated them into their ISP system. :lol:
and you're right ladyhawke! We haven't had any spam for the past while. Not since Ace banned the IPs i'd sent him and those he'd found on posts i'd missed or wasn't able to get ahold of before he came back not too long ago. Last time we banned IPs and S/Ns they came back after a week or two... but this time around they seem to be gone entirely. Lets keep our fingers crossed, shall we?
travi - March 30, 2007 01:55 AM (GMT)
Well ipbfree actualy advises you to block those domains. >_> ROFL
bag - March 31, 2007 11:49 AM (GMT)
| QUOTE (ladyhawke @ Mar 27 2007, 04:22 AM) |
| sympatico.ca is not a spambot domain. I have it as does anyone who uses bell high speed internet here in Canada. |
Actually yes it is, a spambot can use any email the programmer cares to use, weather the own it or not ,sympatico.ca is one of many legitimate email addresses used by alot of spam bots, hence banning it is quite effective in lowering the amount of spam bots able to register upon a forum.
Any real users can easly register with a different email address.
SporeFox - March 31, 2007 12:34 PM (GMT)
well, we should just do the ip thing, it seems top be more effective anyway!
Keys - April 1, 2007 06:16 AM (GMT)
| QUOTE (bag @ Mar 31 2007, 05:49 AM) |
| QUOTE (ladyhawke @ Mar 27 2007, 04:22 AM) | | sympatico.ca is not a spambot domain. I have it as does anyone who uses bell high speed internet here in Canada. |
Actually yes it is, a spambot can use any email the programmer cares to use, weather the own it or not ,sympatico.ca is one of many legitimate email addresses used by alot of spam bots, hence banning it is quite effective in lowering the amount of spam bots able to register upon a forum.
Any real users can easly register with a different email address.
|
Maybe so, but it would be kind of a mute point wouldn't it? They grab a free mail account and find that one has been blocked too because.. the bots are using those free accounts as well.
Seeing as sympatico is a legitimate ISP i don't think it'd be fair to single them out for a few bots. We haven't seen any from sympatico yet anyhow and as sporefox said. Banning the IP does the trick as well and we don't have to go through the trouble of adding all... those... addresses :blink: lol :lol: